Home-Made Pasta |with a pasta machine

I finally went and got myself a pasta machine, I have wanted one for quite some time and since I am doing a patisserie degree next year, I thought this would come in handy.

This was the entry level one the kitchen shop I went to, I just don’t see the point of paying any more for the same product… after all you still have to turn the handle yourself in all of these machines, regardless of the cost.

IMG_6108

Start by mixing your dough, this was the simplest one I could find: 1 cup flour, 1 beaten egg, a pinch of salt and a few drops of water. I will later on explore vegan pasta and update you when I get it right.

IMG_6111 IMG_6114Start by kneading your dough by hand, sprinkle flour over your work surface and hands so the dough doesn’t stick.

IMG_6120

When the dough looks like a little dough ball, let it rest for a bit to let the gluten relax.

IMG_6128

Work your dough through the machine from the widest setting to the thinnest. Use small batches at a time, unless you are an octopus and you have 8 arms to hold everything and turn the wheel… IMG_6132IMG_6140

This entire length of pasta comes from a dough ball the size of a golf ball, so be careful to use small batches at a time…. seriously.

IMG_6145My mom wanted thick, rustic strips for a pasta dish she’s preparing, so I decided to cut the strips by hand instead of using the cutters on the machine, they’re all very wonky and not all the same size but I don’t think that matters too much now.

Leave the pasta out to dry until you want to cook it, when you do, place it into a pot of boiling water and remember that fresh pasta cooks very quickly, so a minute or so will be enough, just keep checking it.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this post, let me know how your own pasta-making goes

Love Quartz

Leave a Reply

